Google+

Learning to Throw

Leave a comment

April 8, 2011 by Heather Harris

I am in a ceramics class this semester and, slowly but surely, I’m learning how to throw on the potter’s wheel. I have to admit, though, I have been struggling. It’s a lot more difficult than it looks. My professor and countless YouTube tutorials expertly move and shape the clay in a way that makes it seem so effortless.  Then my clumsy hands try to mimic them, and all I end up with is a soggy lump of clay that broke apart again because I couldn’t do it right.

One day, I stopped and stared at the mess in front of me and asked,

“What am I doing wrong?  God, aren’t you supposed to be a metaphorical potter? Could you maybe give me some pointers?”

“Stop letting the clay move you.  You move the clay.”

I changed my tactics, and it worked!

It also made me think. So many times I let things move me, circumstances, addictions, habits, peer pressure, etc. But I need to be the one in control of them, or else my life will end up a twisted broken mess.

Of course, this is much easier said than done.  I’ve heard this message over and over in church, devotionals, and various other forms of Christian literature, but it takes practice.  You don’t learn how to throw the perfect pot in a few hours, just like you don’t learn how to live the perfect life over night.  It takes guidance and practice.  I have to actively work at it, and ask God for His help everyday.  Because I can’t do it on my own, I need His hands constantly guiding mine, helping me learn to make the right decisions and shape my clay life into something beautiful that glorifies Him. Thank God He’s so ready and willing to do so 🙂

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 901 other followers

