Google+

I hate “Twilight.”

5

June 12, 2011 by Heather Harris

This is not a romanticized-vampire-bashing post. I give props to Stephanie Meyer for coming up with an original plot concept having to do with vampires who choose to do good. What I do take issue with is the message it sends to teenage girls.

I have not read all the books, nor have I seen all the movies, so I probably have no right to be judging it as I stand,  but from what I do know of the storyline, the main character, Bella, is a whiny, self-absorbed teenage girl who needs an attitude adjustment more than she needs a man. What bothers me about this is the message it sends, that girls who act like this can just find a guy who will fall in love with her because her blood smells funny, which, in all actuality, is lust, not love.

In the first movie (the only one I saw), Bella talks to Edward (her vampire love-bird) just once, and all of a sudden, she’s saying she loves him unconditionally.  I’m sorry, but that is not the way that works.  Love doesn’t just come to you. It takes time, a lot of effort, and hard work to build up to that place where you love someone unconditionally (see my friend Sarah Moon’s blog post “I love you vs. I’m in love with you: the ultimate showdown”).

So, this is why I hate Twilight. Not because it is overly hyped up, or because it is supposedly un-Christian, but because it misleads our youth into swooning over a fictional ideal that ultimately leaves them heartbroken and disillusioned.  Love is in fact real, but it isn’t what Stephanie Meyer, and many other authors, make it out to be.

«

5 thoughts on “I hate “Twilight.”

  1. moonchild11 says:

    I hate Twilight too. Very much. And I have a lot of reasons, but since I only based those reasons on things people tell me, I won’t judge too much. But most of those reasons have to do with the unhealthy message it sends to girls as well.

    Also, this is really funny and mostly accurate: http://theoatmeal.com/story/twilight

    • hrh413 says:

      I know, I hesitated to post this as I was afraid of being yelled at by a bunch of Twilight fanatics, but I decided I didn’t care. I needed to say what I needed to say. Also, I LOVE that link. Hilarious.

  2. Jessi says:

    Hey, it’s Jessi from the Riv.

    I hate Twilight. I also think it sends a bad message to young girls about what love from a man looks like. Edward is controlling, manipulative and possessive. He disables something on her vehicle so she can’t drive anywhere. He sneaks into her room and sits to watch her sleep. He makes all her decisions for her and tells her who to see and what to do. Because he ‘loves’ her and wants to ‘protect’ her. He’s moody and volatile and scary.

    When men act that way in the real world it’s called abuse. And a man will make a woman believe it’s about loving her when really it’s about controlling her.

    • hrh413 says:

      I agree. I feel like now I need to read all the books just so I can give it a proper review and point out all the ways it really isn’t good for young girls, or any woman to be reading and swooning over.

  3. Carina B. says:

    Thanks for posting this!

    I have several reasons for disliking the Twilight series too (and one of them is the very un-Dracula-y portrayal of vampires, lol); however, one of the more important reasons I dislike it is the set of negative messages it sends.

    “I’m sorry, but that is not the way that works. Love doesn’t just come to you. It takes time, a lot of effort, and hard work to build up to that place where you love someone unconditionally…”

    Thanks for that statement of truth! Like! 😀

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 902 other followers

