Google+

I Think I Let My Spiritual Gift Die

7

July 16, 2011 by Heather Harris

I’ve been thinking a lot about spiritual gifts lately.  For instance, what mine are, how I can use them to benefit others, and why in the world God decided to give me the gifts that He did.  In other words, I guess I’ve been thinking a lot about where I fit into God’s story.  Looking back at a paper I wrote on this very topic in my Exploring the Bible class from my freshman year of college, I noticed how much my thinking on this has changed, even in just the past 3 years.

I used to think the only gifts God had given me were talent-related.  I have always been gifted musically and artistically, and so, naturally I have tended to focus my energies on pursuing those talents for God, but what I didn’t realize before is the spiritual gifts God has given me in relating to those around me.

When I was younger, I was always drawn to and had a heart for those who were different.  When I was in elementary school, I befriended a dwarf girl who got picked on because of her size.  My best friend in kindergarten was an Egyptian girl whose parents sent her to kindergarten a year early so that she could learn English better.  My teachers used to ask me to be paired with students who were mentally impaired, when we had partner projects, because they noticed my ability to understand and love the outcasts.

Though I know now that God has spiritually gifted me with loving people unconditionally, it bothers me that this other part of me, this ability to understand and embrace those who are different that was so prominent when I younger, has all but disappeared in my adult life.  I believe God plants seeds in us, seeds that are gifts for us to nurture and cultivate, so that they can flourish in our spirits and flow outwardly to those around us.  But I am afraid I let that gift God intended to grow in me die.

What are your thoughts? Do you think that with time and care I can once again grow that gift into something I can use again?

Stay tuned for a lot more posts and hopefully thoughtful discussions on this subject.

7 thoughts on “I Think I Let My Spiritual Gift Die

  1. Maybe the Spiritual gifts are like muscle, if we neglect to exercise then they begin to atrophy, yet when we begin to feed and exercise them they will grow and thrive again.

  2. hrh413 says:

    That makes sense. I believe threads of it are still there. I am still drawn to those who are different, I just don’t tend to act on it like I used to.

  3. waynebradley says:

    I do believe that if you have a genuine spiritual gift that you must practice it. If it seems dead, I think that it is only because you haven’t practiced it. As you step out of your adulthood comfort zones to reach out to those different, I believe that you will see this manifestation of the gifts of mercy and compassion gain life.

  4. hrh413 says:

    Good thoughts. I agree. I definitely need to be stepping out of my comfort zone more and consciously decide to practice my gifts.

  5. Carina B. says:

    Ehhh, conviction, yucky. Lol. I too feel that accepting and loving others (whether they “fit in” or not) is one of the things I’m supposed to do, and I haven’t been doing it either. :/
    Thanks for the reminder; I’ll probably be pondering this thing a lot. 🙂

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 902 other followers

