Google+

The Authenticity of David

6

July 16, 2011 by Heather Harris

David played a string instrument, like me (I play guitar)

If there is one person in the Bible that I most identify with, it’s David.  Though mostly known as a shepherd, a war hero, and one of Israel’s greatest kings, he was also a poet, a musician, a songwriter, and a man with a heart for worship…in short he was a creative spirit, and one who really, truly loved his God. In fact, God, Himself, called David  “a man after [His] own heart,” (Acts 13:22). Obviously, the reason I identify so well with David is his passion for creativity and ability to communicate with the world through various art forms, but what I really love most about David is how real he is with God.

In the Psalms, David’s writing outlines a constant elevator ride of emotions, From anger, to contentment, to despair, to pure elated joy, David writes honestly to God, and I absolutely love it.  What bothers me the most about Christians today is how fake a lot of us are, to the point that we are even fake in God’s presence.  News flash: God sees through our little games of pretend.  So what is the point in keeping our guard up when we are talking to and spending time with Him?

Christians, if there is one thing God wants from us, it is to BE REAL with Him.  If not with everyone else, then at least with Him.  He already knows everything about us.  He knows us even better than we know ourselves.  So if you are angry with God, tell Him! If you are stressed about what it means to live the Christian life, tell Him!  If you are so crazy in love with Him, you can’t hold it in, tell Him!  There is not a single emotion or thought you need hide from God.  He wants all of you, so why not give Him what He’s asking for? Pour your heart out at the feet of God, every last bit of it.  That’s what true worship is really all about.

David has always been my favorite Bible character, from the time I first heard about him in Sunday school.  My reasons for looking up to him have grown and evolved since then, but he is still one of my favorite Bible heroes just the same.  Who do you look up to/identify most with from the Bible, and what are your reasons?

6 thoughts on “The Authenticity of David

  1. moonchild11 says:

    I wrote about David’s authenticity a while ago for a guest post: http://graphicgrace.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/guest-post-sarah-moon/ I agree!

    I like David too though, but I always liked him because he made big mistakes but didn’t give up after making them. He realized he was human, and was sorry, but he didn’t say, “Oh, I ruined my testimony. I can’t serve God anymore!” nor did he just pretend things didn’t happen. He was inspired by his mistakes and by God’s forgiveness!

    And I also like Sarah in the Bible, because she reminded me of myself, and because she was a brave, strong, free thinking, woman who was not easily deceived. Sometimes that got her into trouble, but she still was super cool and God still used her!

  2. Sharon White says:

    This is wonderful. So many times we are afraid to be real with God because of what we are feeling or thinking. Knowing He knows our thoughts anyways doesn’t seem to seep into our minds. I just love this though. It’s such a great reminder to all of us to be real. Stop pretending to be something your not or better then others. Thanks for this!!

  3. Thank you!

    David is interesting to say the least. Not afraid to express his joy and elation in the Lord, nor is he afraid to shout at Him in his anger and despair (things we Christians often are taught are sinful, yet David is that man after God’s own heart.) I wonder how often David held both the elation and the despair simultaneously, because I sometimes do.

    I wonder how many people who cannot be real with God, who try to wear their masks in front of God do so because they cannot be real even with themselves? I’ve experienced people’s masks worn not so much for me and the world, but for them, that the lies they tell are mainly lies to self.

  4. hrh413 says:

    “I’ve experienced people’s masks worn not so much for me and the world, but for them, that the lies they tell are mainly lies to self.” SO TRUE.

    To be honest, I struggle with this a lot. As it says in my post “Creating is an Act of Worship” (https://hrh413.wordpress.com/2011/06/16/creating-is-an-act-of-worship), “I’ve always prided myself on being real with people, but the truth is, I’m not even real with myself. I have this ideal image that I wish I fit into, and I try to be true to that. But in the end, I cheat myself out of just being who and what I really am.”

    Part of the reason I decided to share both that post and this one is because I want to let others like me start realizing and admitting the truth to themselves so that they can start to take off the masks and embrace their real selves, the good, the bad, and the ugly.

    • “I want to let others like me start realizing and admitting the truth to themselves so that they can start to take off the masks and embrace their real selves, the good, the bad, and the ugly.” AMEN!!!!

      Sometimes I just don’t know who the real me is.

  5. hrh413 says:

    It’s hard to realize, but it is discoverable. It takes courage, honesty, growth, maturity, and A LOT of thought-provoking discussions with those who are much wiser.

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 901 other followers

