Google+

I’ve Been There, and I’ve Found Hope: Why I Support TWLOHA

5

July 21, 2011 by Heather Harris

Envision a pitch-black darkness that shrouds every aspect of life in its sick, twisted shadow, a pit that only grows deeper and deeper as you desperately try to dig your way out of its dank, muddy clutches.  Imagine looking up and seeing the light of day, that glimmer of hope of somehow getting out of that horrible darkness, slowly grow smaller and smaller until it seemingly disappears altogether.  Do you feel the despair, the loneliness, the overwhelming temptation to just give up? This is what depression and addiction feels like to its victims.

I support the non-profit organization, “To Write Love On Her Arms” because I have been there. As a once sufferer of depression, addiction to self-injury, and abuse of painkillers,  I know what it’s like to feel like there’s no hope, like there is no way out of your suffocating situation, like no one really knows or understands the pain you feel, like you are completely and utterly alone.  That’s why I support TWLOHA’s mission to let people who suffer from depression, addiction, and/or suicidal thinking know that they are not alone, that they are needed and loved. that they matter, and that there is still and always will be hope for healing and recovery.

I believe as people, but as Christians especially, we are called to love. We are called to bring hope to the hopeless, to pour ourselves out again and again with mercy and compassion.  We are put on this earth to be here for each other, to let each other know we are not alone in this sometimes heartbreaking and lonely life, to remind each other that there is still and always will be hope for tomorrow, even when all seems lost.  So it is in this mindset that I urge all of you to support TWLOHA in its vision (you can read the powerful description of their vision on their website here), and check out their website to learn more about them and find out about how you can help!

On my blog page, via Socialvibe, there is a way you can help support this mission as well. Plus, it’s free! It’s as easy as clicking and following the instructions.  You can also click the banner below and vote for TWLOHA on the Vivint Gives Back Project. All it costs is your time, and although I know everyone’s time is precious, are not human lives much more so?

Vivint is giving away $1.25 Million to charities. Help us win!

What charities/non-profit organizations do you support? Is there a personal story or passion behind your reasons for doing so?

5 thoughts on “I’ve Been There, and I’ve Found Hope: Why I Support TWLOHA

  1. Thank you! I am sorry for the pain you went through. I know that darkness and despair you describe. I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. So glad you found help and relief. I hope and pray that your readers will take the time to help TWLOHA through simply clicking the button to the right. It only takes a minute, you won’t be inundated with junk e-mails–it is painless and will help TWLOHA help those who suffer in this dark despair. And NO it is NOT because of sin in their lives!!!! (all too often Christians want to blame the victim wen it comes to depression, despair, hurting self, etc. Platitudes are unhelpful at best, damaging and evil….)

  2. […] This is an important subject. Heather has been there. Read her post and support To Write Love On Her Arms (TWLOHA) Envision a pitch-black darkness that shrouds every aspect of life in its sick, twisted shadow, a pit that only grows deeper and deeper as you desperately try to dig your way out of its dank, muddy clutches.  Imagine looking up and seeing the light of day, that glimmer of hope of somehow getting out of that horrible darkness, slowly grow smaller and smaller until it seemingly disappears altogether.  Do you feel the despair, the loneliness, the ove … Read More […]

  3. hrh413 says:

    Thank you! Yes, we are called to love, not accuse!

  4. Sam Kee says:

    Thank you for sharing this! I love finding others who support TWLOHA.

    • hrh413 says:

      Of course! I have a heart for those who suffer from depression, addiction, self-injury, etc. Not only did I struggle with it and still sometimes struggle with it, I know sooo many people who struggle with it as well. I believe God has given me a passion for the afflicted and I hope to reach out in love to help as much as I can.

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 902 other followers

