Google+

You Gotta Spend Some Time, Love

Leave a comment

August 10, 2011 by Heather Harris

I love how God can speak to us through anything in the world if we’re willing to listen. I was listening to this Death Cab for Cutie song today, and I felt and heard God pleading with me. Here are the lyrics:

How I wish you could see the potential,
the potential of you and me.
It’s like a book elegantly bound but,
in a language that you can’t read.
Just yet.

You gotta spend some time, love.
You gotta spend some time with me.
And I know that you’ll find, love
I will possess your heart.

There are days when outside your window
I see my reflection as I slowly pass,
and I long for this mirrored perspective
when we’ll be lovers, lovers at last.

You gotta spend some time, love.
You gotta spend some time with me.
And I know that you’ll find, love
I will possess your heart.

You reject my advances  and desperate pleas
I won’t let you let me down so easily.
So easily.

You gotta spend some time, love.
You gotta spend some time with me.
And I know that you’ll find, love
I will possess your heart.

I am always saying how I want to fall in love with God, that I want to be more than just a fan of God or a distant casual acquaintance.  I want the relationship, the closeness, but in order to have that, I need to spend time with Him.  Relationships don’t just spring out of nothing. They take effort, but especially, they take time. You can’t get to know and love someone just from watching their interactions with other people, you have to take the time and energy to interact with that person yourself.  It’s the same way with God. He wants a relationship with you, not just a sense of duty or loyalty, but an honest, real relationship. Listening to this song made me feel like God was speaking directly to my heart. I could feel him whispering to me, asking me to spend time with Him, get to know Him, laugh with Him, cry with Him, and sooner or later I would realize that He would “possess my heart.”  It made me want to laugh and cry at the same time. The fact that the Creator of the universe wants me, is pleading with me to spend time with Him….Wow.  That just blows my mind.

What is God saying to you? Have you ever heard God speaking to you in unexpected ways?

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 902 other followers

