Google+

My Best Friend’s Engagement Pictures

4

August 26, 2011 by Heather Bentzen

I had the honor of being able to take my best friend’s engagement pictures. This was my first real photo shoot with models. I learned a lot from it, and looking back, I wish I would have done a lot of things differently, but overall, I think they turned out pretty awesome, especially since I just used a point and shoot camera.

The first set were shot at Amy’s favorite place, a little park on private property (shhh!) that was a very romantic setting with stone walls and such overlooking a dock on the lake.  The water was kind of scummy though, otherwise we might have taken more pictures of them with the lake in the background.

This one is my absolute favorite. I love the look in Amy’s eye and the fact that it showcases her ring. My only complaint is that it doesn’t have Chris’s handsome face in it as well!

As you can tell, I tend to favor close-ups. This one is definitely either my second or third favorite. Again, wish Chris’s face was in it more.

The second set was taken on a playground to show more of their playful, cute side.  I think I definitely got to capture some of that, and I’m glad because they’re a fun couple!

They’re so flippin’ cute!

We had a lot of fun messing around on the various playground equipment 🙂

Chris wanted to do an upside-down, Spiderman style kiss. Amy thought it was kind of a dumb idea but she went along with it anyway (because she’s awesome). What I love about this picture is how it’s almost reminiscent of a yin yang sort of thing, which I think fits them in that they’re opposites but still fit together so well. I’m glad Amy was a good sport.

All in all, I’m happy with the way the pictures turned out, and Amy and Chris were too. If I were to do it over again, I would make Chris look at the camera more instead of focusing so much on looking at Amy, but what can you do? The man’s in love — he can’t help it!  I also would’ve taken a few more horizontal pictures to give them more of a variety if they wanted to display them collage-style.  It was my first photo shoot, and I learned a lot from it, so I’m excited and happy to share them!

4 thoughts on “My Best Friend’s Engagement Pictures

  1. Lovely! Keep working on this craft. Also, much success and love to the happy couple.

  2. moonchild11 says:

    Good job! And so precious! Lah-vers!

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 901 other subscribers