Google+

Nothing’s Changing

9

September 9, 2011 by Heather Harris

It’s days like these when I realize what I gave up when I chose to leave Grace College. It’s days like these when I realize what I lost when I gave up my relationship with my ex-boyfriend.  It’s days like these when I wish with all my heart that I had a group of real friends who supported me.  It’s days like these when I beat myself up because my circumstances are simply the result of my own choices, though they were made with the intention of doing what God wanted me to do. It’s days like these when I realize how incredibly alone I am. It’s days like these when depression creeps in and tries to twist my mind against me.  It’s days like these when I have to fight with everything I have just to make it through the day.

I’m not trying to complain or victimize myself. I realize there are others whose circumstances are way worse than mine.  I’m not discrediting my family and the few friends I do have and how grateful I am for their love and support. I’m not blaming God for any of the heartache and struggles I am having to go through.  In fact, I’m trying my best to cling to Him, but

NOTHING’S CHANGING.

I wait, I pray, I ache, I push through, I try to keep smiling, but I still feel empty.

I’m still alone.

What am I meant to do with this, this hollowed out shell of who I am?

If You make all things new, God, then PLEASE, won’t you just do it, already?! Don’t wait around leaving me broken, in pieces, scattered haphazardly on the cold, lonely floor. IF YOU LOVE ME, WHY DO YOU LEAVE ME LIKE THIS?

I see God’s work in others’ lives and I envy them. Why won’t He work for me? Why won’t He reach out and touch MY life? What am I doing wrong?

I read my Bible, I pray, I cry out for His help, and I am met with silence. Does He not know how I long for His voice, how I ache for His touch in my life, how I yearn for Him to fill me?

I don’t understand it, but I CAN trust that God knows what He’s doing, especially when I don’t. He may be silent now, but He has been loud in my past.  So I will remember His faithfulness and trust in Him now.

If you think of it, please pray for me.

9 thoughts on “Nothing’s Changing

  1. moonchild11 says:

    I know how you feel so much! Prayers for you! Don’t give up.

    • hrh413 says:

      Thanks Sarah. I went back and re-read the blogs you wrote right around your break-up with Aaron and they helped me a lot. Thank you for being willing to share your story.

  2. heather says:

    I’ve totally been there. Obedience is hard. I love the fact that Jesus himself can sympathize with our weaknesses and feelings of lonliness. I can’t imagine how he must have felt when He was alone on the cross without even God to comfort Him. I pray that God reveals just enough of His plan for you to feel a sense of purpose. I pray that you will remain faithful in this time of waiting. As long as you are living in obedience to Him, He will cause you to grow closer to Him.That’s part of why we’re here anyway, right? You are important and you are loved!

  3. sharonwhite64 says:

    We all go through those dry periods. The tests and trials or his silence. It’s hard to get through those times but know this, things ARE changing. They may not seem like it to you from where you are, but they are. God is at work in our lives, whether we feel it or see it or not. It doesn’t make these times any less hard though. I know how frustrated you are. But hang in there. Keep trusting God. It’s just temporary.

  4. sharonwhite64 says:

    That was supposed to say The tests and trials OF his silence. Sorry….

  5. W. Rebecca Roach says:

    sometimes the pressures of hopes and dreams and desires and stuff seem so pointless when nothing is happening. it is so hard to wait on God. I love you girl. God is doing something push through this season.

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 901 other followers

