Google+

Pushing Back the Dark

2

April 13, 2014 by Heather Harris

A few months ago, I had a dream I was face to face with a knight, ominously looming over me in thick black armor. Sword raised, I stood frozen in fear, yet very aware I was at a crossroads. I knew any second my enemy would attack, and I had to think fast in order to counter the inevitable blow. Instinct whispered to hide behind my shield, cowering but still protected and safe. Then I remembered the gleaming sword in my own hand and tightened my grip, feeling the power in my arm as I charged in defense, swinging the weapon with surprising force, for which my enemy was not prepared. I showed no mercy, swinging and advancing, pushing my dark foe back with all my might. I awoke with such a feeling of empowerment and victory pounding in my heart, I was unable to sleep again for hours.

Struggling with depression and negative thoughts since I was a preteen, I’ve always handled them defensively, the same way I instinctively wanted to cower and hide from the enemy I faced in my dream, but that has never been God’s plan for me. His plan is victory, and not just victory but advancement against the enemy, pushing back the dark that constantly threatens to overtake and overwhelm my soul in every waking moment.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” – 2 Timothy 1:7

“Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 8:37-39

“The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.” – 1 Corinthians 15:56-58

When I read scripture pertaining to fighting the enemy, I tend to get hung up on words and phrases like “be steadfast” and “immovable” because in that moment, it’s hard to think of anything else but simply withstanding Satan’s attacks. But when I do that, I miss the entire point of fighting against Him in the first place—to further the mission of Christ. And so we are encouraged to continue moving forward “always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.” We are advised to stand our ground for sure, but most importantly to remember what it is we’re fighting for because without Jesus Christ, the war we fight against the dark is pointless.

2 thoughts on “Pushing Back the Dark

  1. pvirant says:

    That’s amazing! Two people, on two different sides of the planet had two very similar dreams and two very similar responses to those dreams at about the same time. You posted yours on WordPress and I posted mine on FB. The pieces not the same but they share a common theme. Thank you for letting me read my thoughts and experiences in your words. I love the way the world becomes a little smaller when that happens. 🙂

    • Wow that’s awesome! Thanks for sharing that you also had a similar experience. I shared this personally with friends and they drew a lot of strength from it. I’m glad you did as well 🙂

Whatcha thinkin'?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 902 other followers

